FIND THE ANSWERS

Texas lease apartment laws?

Answer this question

  • Texas lease apartment laws?


Answers

Answer #1 | 22/12 2013 21:00
You want to do some reading up on Chapter 92 of the Texas Property Code: You have a right to demand that the landlord repair any condition that materially affects your health and safety. Under Texas law, by renting you the property, the landlord guarantees that the unit will be a fit place to live. This is defined as "Implied Warranty of Habitability" SB 1448 (81st Regular Session), effective January 1, 2010, now grants justices of the peace authority to order landlords to repair or remedy conditions affecting a tenant's health and safety, as long as the cost of the repair does not exceed $10,000. Tenants can go to justice court without an attorney to obtain a repair order. I would suspect that if it would cost the landlord in excess of $10 000 that you would be released from your obligations as a tenant. This means that the lease would be terminated by mutual consent rather you having to "break" the lease. A lease that is broken by the tenant can result in monetary consequences. A lease that is "terminated" does not.

Possible answer